Summer Time Meals

image image

Summer is my favorite season. I love summer because it’s warm, relaxing, and it’s filled with a lot of opportunities to eat good food.

Some of my favorite food comes from my family picnics. It seems like my family has a picnic every holiday in the summer. We have one for Mother’s Day, if it’s warm enough, Memorial Day, Father’s Day, Fourth of July, and Labor Day. We usually go to the shelter in Janesville down by the river. My grandma on my dad’s side is known for her pies. She makes the best pies around. For the picnics she usually brings some type of cream pie. Whether it’s banana, coconut, chocolate, or peaches and cream, all of her pies are amazing. Everyone brings some form of meat to grill. My favorite thing to grill is a big juicy hamburger. I love huge hamburgers topped with white cheese, BBQ sauce, and those little crispy onions people normally put on salads. YUM!

In the summer I also love to eat fruit. I eat fruit a lot. Normally I like apples, bananas, oranges, and grapes, but in the summer I like all the good fruits. I love mango slices, papaya, star fruit, pomegranate, cantaloupe, and especially pineapple. Grilled pineapple is also very good. It may sound weird, but you have got to try it!

Leave a Reply

